I’m Going to the Gym! Or, Why I Exercise

Abigail Leigh Phillips

I get a lot of questions about my exercise habits, but recently it feels like people are slightly more curious. During the past six months, I become more active in long distance running and posting about my training and races on social media. This may be the reason for this curiosity. I love talking (and nagging people) about exercise and nutrition, so this seems like a good time to blog about my fitness fanaticism and how exercise has helped me as a PhD student.

I had no idea when I started working out during my Junior year as an undergrad at University of Georgia that exercise would become a life-long passion. Boredom is what really forced me to go to the gym. It was summer and all my friends had left for home. Exercise became something to do. Now, I don’t even think about whether or not to work out. I wake…

View original post 1,029 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

